Past Winners


Clotilde P. Garcia Tejano Book Prize

The Tejano Genealogy Society of Austin (TGSA) initiated the Clotilde P. Garcia Book Prize award in 2006 with two goals.  Each year since then an author whose book focused on our Tejano heritage, history and contributions has been awarded:  

(1) to give Tejano Heritage books greater recognition from historians, scholars, academicians, film, television, and multimedia communities.

(2) to put such published books in the spotlight and bring attention to Tejano Heritage, history and contributions.  Each year since then, an author whose book focused on Tejano heritage, history, and contributions has been awarded a sum of $1,000.00, given recognition at the annual State Hispanic Genealogical Conference, and an advertised book-signing session at the Conference. The winning author is selected by a panel of three judges comprised of university professors, historians, and /or authors.

Past Winners:





Harriett Denise Joseph

From Santa Anna to Selena: Notable Mexicans and Tejanos in Texas History Since 1821


Dr. Jerry D. Thompson

Tejano Tiger


Dr. Arnoldo De Leon

Tejano West Texas


Dr. Douglas A. Murphy

Two Armies on the Rio Grande: The Campaign of the US-Mexican War.


Dr. Emilio Zamora

WWI Diary of Jose de la Luz Saenz


Dr. Omar Valerio-Jimenez

River of Hope: Forging Identity Nation in the Rio Grande Borderlands


Dr. Thomas Kreneck

Del Pueblo: A History of Houston's Hispanic Community


Dr. Jerry D. Thompson

Tejanos In Grey


Dr. Emilio Zamora

Claiming Rights and Righting Wrongs


W. Eugene George 

Lost Architecture of the Rio Grande


Malcolm McLean

Voices From the Goliad Frontier


Dr. Jerry D. Thompson

Cortina-Defending the Mexican Name in Texas


1.  Information on contest, listing criteria to be used, and deadlines for submitting entries, are sent to publishers.

2.  Judges (University professors and authors) are selected, given the criteria to be used and the deadline for selection of winner.

3.  Awarding and recognition of the winning author at a conference banquet.


Clotilde P. Garcia Member's Choice Book Prize

TGSA Implemented the Member's Choice Award in 2015 to recognize self-published submissions by authors whose work is focused on Tejano history, heritage, or genealogy.

The 2018 Members' Choice Award was presented to HOGAR de Dallas, 2017 Journal, Volume XX 

The 2017 Members' Choice Award was presented to Rio Grande Valley Hispanic Society, 2016 Journal, Volume VI.

The 2016 Members' Choice Award was presented to Spanish American Genealogical Society of Corpus Christi, Texas, 2016 Journal.

The 2015 Members' Choice Award was presented to Jesse O. Villarreal, Sr. for his book "Rosters of Tejano Patriots of the American Revolution 1776-1783."